top of page

Homemade Hangboard - and changes

Updated: Sep 10, 2020

When I first started climbing I desperately tried to bring the activity home with me. Regrettably the first way I did this was by hanging on thin door frames, of which only two have survived my...incredible...grip strength.


After finding a sturdy piece of wood in my basement, previously used to hang clothes to dry, I decided to improvise a hangboard to train on.


Simply put: it is a piece of wood with two holes in it.


I thought it would be good to share a video of the building process to show how easy it is to implement climbing training anywhere.


I would also like to share some of my thoughts on climbing training from my own experiences having climbed (primarily indoors) for almost a year now.

-----------


Beginner:

The earliest phase of your climbing journey. As a beginner you struggle to juggle three key fears: a fear of heights, a fear of falling, and a fear of embarrassment. Simultaneously you are driven by a playful attitude, preforming without expectation or ego. Your motivation is consistent as you search for your seemingly inexistant personal limit. Physically you aren't able to climb as often as you want to; your skin wears out quickly and your forearms, back and feet never seem to fully recover.


Intermediate:

Phase two of three, you now have a sense of your personal limit, are up to date with the latest climbing jargon: "ALLEZ! flag-that-toe-hook-crimp-juggy-sloper", and just bought the tightest, most aggressive shoes...two sizes too small.

You've shaken off your previous fears but have adopted the deadliest one of them all: a fear of under performing.

Enter the climbing ego. "I usually climb V6 so I should be able to send V6 everyday". Your approach to climbing is no longer playful or casual, instead you've now set a standard for yourself that should be met every time you go climbing...which is just impossible.

You can feel the eyes watching you as your arms and legs shake under the pressure of your own mental doubt. You pay closer attention to your most recent failures and quickly dismiss your latest successes.

Your motivation takes a hit and your visits to the gym are determined by your willingness to face failure.

You've forgotten why you started climbing, and tally your wins and losses under the impression that it matters.


Enlightenment:

The third phase, a period which comes and goes undoubtedly under your control, yet sometimes seems unreachable.

You've decided to go climbing during the quiet hours of the day. You reflect intimately with your mental state and strategize accordingly. You expect nothing from yourself except to try hard. You happily welcome failure as you've learned to pay close attention to their lessons and bask in the glory of your successes.

You adjust yourself according to your intentions: "Today I train, tomorrow I send" and separate yourself from the infectious commercial side of the climbing community.


You climb, and train to climb more.


-----------


This is my own experience and would love for you to share yours. Climb on.



130 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page